Managing Permission Roles
Last updated: October 22, 2026
Kion includes built-in, system-managed permission roles (such as Admin and User) as well as user-managed roles that you create. System-managed roles cannot be edited or deleted, but you can clone them. For more information, see Built-In Permission Roles.
Assigning Users to a Permission Role
To learn how to map users to a permission role, see Mapping Users to Permission Roles.
Assigning Permissions to a Permission Role
To learn how to map permissions to a permission role, see Edit a Permission Scheme. You can also select a user-managed role's permissions in each permission scheme when you edit the role.
Viewing a Permission Role
To see exactly which permissions a permission role is assigning, including implied permissions:
Navigate to Settings > Permissions.
Select the Roles tab at the top of the page.
Click on a role.
Under Mapped Permission Schemes, select a permission scheme tab to see the permissions Applied and Implied for the role in that scheme.
Editing a Permission Role
System-managed roles cannot be edited. To customize one, clone it instead.
Navigate to Settings > Permissions
Click the Roles tab.
Click the ellipsis menu next to the permission role and select Edit.
Make any changes.
Click Apply Changes.
Cloning a Permission Role
Navigate to Settings > Permissions
Click the Roles tab.
Click the ellipsis menu next to the permission role and select Clone.
Enter a name for the new role and make any changes to its permissions.
Click Clone Role.
A clone of a system-managed role is user-managed. It will not automatically receive permission updates the way the original role does.
Disabling a Permission Role
You can disable a role instead of deleting it. To include disabled roles in the list, select Include Disabled Roles on the Roles tab.
Navigate to Settings > Permissions
Click the Roles tab.
Click the ellipsis menu next to the role and select Disable. To turn it back on, select Enable.
A role that is mapped to any users or user groups cannot be disabled.
Deleting a Permission Role
System-managed roles cannot be deleted, and a role that is mapped to any users or user groups cannot be deleted until those mappings are removed.
Navigate to Settings > Permissions
Click the Roles tab at the top of the page.
Click the ellipsis menu next to the role and select Delete. This removes the role from all permission schemes.