Move an OU
Last updated: October 22, 2026
There are a few rules to consider when moving OUs.
OU can only be moved to a new destination beneath its existing top-level OU. However, a top-level OU can be made a child of any OU that is not its own descendant.
An OUs cannot be made a child of one of its descendant OUs.
An OU cannot be moved to an archived OU.
All projects and financials attached to the OU move to the new destination.
The moved OU will inherit cloud rules from the new parent OU, and inherited cloud rules from the previous parent OU will no longer apply. Compliance findings for cloud rules that no longer apply after the move are removed.
Only users with global admin permissions can move OUs.
To move an OU:
Navigate to OUs > All OUs.
Click the ellipsis menu next to the OU you want to move, and select move OU.
Select a new parent OU as your destination OU.
Click Move.